CONTACT US


HOME | VEHICLE GUIDE | SPECIAL OFFERS | ABOUT MYKONOS | TERMS
Mykonos Island - Sights and attractions
Greek Ferries
Mykonos Town (Chora). The capital of the island.
The location and the way the town of Mykonos is build, the port, the particular colours, it is an exceptional masterpiece. No man and no plan would be able to create something so unique. A stroll in its narrow streets is enough to discover its beautiful position, scale and architecture. Matogianni is the most commercial street of Mykonos and in round from these roads you will find a lot of shops with jewels, clothes, popular art and whatever you want.

The coastal street maintains his picturesque. Around of these streets functions a lot of cafeterias and taverns. The feeling of getting lost in the narrow alleys with its small white houses, blue windows and wooden balconies that express the Aegean style is fascinating.
Windmills of Mykonos
The windmills of Mykonos are the trademark of the whole island. They can be seen from every point of Chora and they are the first thing to see when the ship gets close to the harbour, as they stand on a hill overlooking the area.

From as early as the 16th century one of the most recognized landmarks of Mykonos has been the windmills. Stood for centuries, compose a picture of unparalleled beauty in combination with red domes and bell towers of the countless churches. Mykonos without her windmills would be as hard to envisage as Paris without the Eiffel Tower or India without Taj Mahal.
Alefkandra or Little Venice
Alefkandra or Little Venice is one of the most famous and cosmopolitan area of Mykonos Town. It is found to the east side of Mykonos harbour. It begins from the beach of Alefkandra and arrives to the old district of Castle. Little Venice characterize from the intense coloured houses and there wooden balconies which rises out of the sea. The area is full of trendy cafe and bars and is one of the most crowded areas. It offers a fantastic sunset.
Petros the Pelican
An old celebrity of the town's waterfront, "Petros" has been the official mascot of Mykonos for many years. Found after a storm in 1954 the pelican gave up its migrating to become a local resident. After more than thirty years of making the island his home, Petros eventually died. The loss of such a personality was so deeply felt by both Myconian and tourist alike that a replacement was soon found and a tradition established. Through the care and protection of the islanders, the spirit of Petros lives on in his predecessor who continues to this day to make his home on the islands waterfront.

Nowadays three new pelicans live around the main town of Mykonos. One of them is also named Petros.
Paraportiani
On the western side of the port town of Chora, before you get to Little Venice you will find the imposing Paraportiani. Of all the churches in the town of Mykonos, it’s the most famous internationally majestic structure. It stands in the area known as "Kastro" and it is the oldest section of the town.

Paraportiani evolved over about two hundred years beginning in 1475. Four little churches were joined together to form the lower or main area of the church and a fifth church was placed on top to form the dome that we see today.

From both an architectural and photographic point of view the organic lines that make up this building are truly unique.
Panagia Tourliani Monastary
In the middle of the island about 8 kilometres east from the Town of Mykonos is the most significant highlight of Ano Mera’s village the monastery of Panagia Tourliani.

Built in the 17th century with its impressive well-preserved wooden iconostasis - carved in Florence - the church has a number of remarkable examples of folk art. The monastery’s bell tower is an artistic achievement with stone carved ornamentation on it.

The Holy Monastery of Lady Tourliani was founded in 1542 by two monks and named the church the Presentation of Virgin Mary, and was restructured in 1767 where it took its present name after the icon Virgin Mary, which has been found floating in the Bay of Tourlos just outside of Chora, the main village of the island.

The church became the patroness of Mykonos and celebrates on the 15th of August. Inside the monastery are two museums, the Ecclesiastical Museum, which houses the beautiful Epitaphios of Aghia Eleni of Mykonos Town, and the Agricultural Museum which has a fine collection of farming tools.

Worth visiting is also the Monastery of Paleokastro, on the opposite hill, where one can see the remains of a Byzantine castle. There are remains of the ancient fort of the site, and also of graves of the Geometric period.
More churches & Monasteries: Agios Panteleimonas (17th century) at Marathié | Agios Georgios in Ampelokipos | The Catholic Church | The Convent of Panagia | Agia Kyriaki | Panagia Panachra | Megali Panagia or Metropolis
Time for a swim | It's Party time | Sights and attractions| Museums | Delos Island | Driving in Mykonos
MYKONOS e-book: GR | EN | IT | DE | RU